Key Stage 3

Religious Studies KS3 overview

Key Stage 3 Religious Studies forms part of the statutory curriculum outlined as outlined in the Dudley’s Locally Agreed Syllabus.

Year 7 Units

  1. Belief in God (Learners begin with comprehending the arguments surrounding the existence and non-existence of a God.  This unit introduces the concept of belief, the cosmological and teleological arguments for a belief in God, the nature of religious experience, the Problem of Evil, the relationship between religion and science, and mythologies surrounding Creation).
  2. Children of Abraham (An exploration of the stories and histories that underpin the three Abrahamic faiths of Judaism, Christianity and Islam; from the Abrahamic Covenant up to the Exodus of the Israelites).
  3. The Life and Teachings of Jesus (An investigation of the important Biblical narratives surrounding the life of the historical Jesus as told in the Gospels, including the Nativity, baptism, miracles, discipleship and the Passion.)
  4. Christian Worship (An exploration of how Christian belief is manifested into rites and rituals, including the festivals of Christmas and Easter, the design and purpose of the church, the rite of baptism and the concept of the Eucharist).
  5. The Three Jewels of Buddhism (A study of the Buddhist religion through the life of the Buddha, his teachings and the Buddhist community, investigations include the birth narratives of the Buddha, the eightfold path, meditation, shrine worship and ordination into monkhood).
  6. Introduction to Religious Ethics (Learners are introduced to ethical thinking through a series of moral questions surrounding Human Rights, Animal Rights, Equality and Poverty.  A range of religious and humanist responses to a series of ethical dilemmas are examined, including a focus on using sound reasoning and informed insights to form personal opinions to such dilemmas).

Year 8 Units

  1. The Gurus of Sikhism (An exploration of the Sikh faith through a detailed study of the historical development of Sikhism through the guruship.  Learners begin to explore the life of Guru Nanak through to Guru Gobind Singh, and the holy text the Guru Granth Sahib.  There is a focus on how belief and histories impact lifestyle).
  2. The 5 Pillars of Islam (Learners explore the Islamic faith through a study of worship and religious practices, considering how the role of the Prophet (pbuh) and the Qur’an inspired contemporary Muslim ritual.  Learners will investigate the declaration of Islamic faith, prayer, charity, the concept of fasting and festival, and the pilgrimage to Mekkah).
  3. The Covenant of Judaism (Learners will recap the Abrahamic and Siani Covenants from Year 7, and enquire into how such central beliefs affect Jewish lifestyle today.  There will be an exploration of the centrality of the Torah, the belief in the Messianic Age, covenant of circumcision, coming of age ceremonies, marriage and funeral rites, holy days, festivals and pilgrimage).

Year 9 Units

  1. The Holocaust (Learners begin by investigating the impact the Holocaust had on the Jews in 20th Century Europe.  This module is aimed to complement the history curriculum, but add further details about how such atrocities have impacted upon a world faith.  Alongside a study of the causes of anti-Semitism, the ghettos and concentration camps pupils explore the nature of prejudice, the religious justifications for suffering, the concept of refuge and remembrance.
  2. Philosophical Investigations (pupils engage in a range of philosophical dilemmas including the origin of the world and humanity, the belief in life after death, the issue with belief in Satan.  Pupils really address the nature of philosophical enquiry and improve their ability to articulate strong reasoning in the form of debate and discussion).
  3. Introduction to Christian Ethics (pupils prepare themselves for KS4 ethics by being introduced to a range of moral issues such as abortion, euthanasia, poverty, racism, sexism, the use of legal and illegal drugs and forms of punishment.  Pupils explore the reasons behind denominational differences in Christian thought, the example of Jesus Christ in moral decision-making, the nature of conscience, the role of the Vatican and Arch-Bishops in the Roman Catholic Church and Church of England, and issues surrounding biblical interpretation.

How will the KS3 curriculum prepare my child for life in modern Britain?

Religious Studies at KS3 offers pupils the following preparations for life in modern Britain:

  • Develop knowledge and understanding of the role of Christianity in modern Britain
  • Develop knowledge and understanding of the other principle religions in modern Britain
  • Explore what is means to live in a multi-cultural Britain
  • Instil tolerance in a diverse British society
  • Reflect on the role of the individual and community in British society regarding a number of issues including identity, culture and faith
  • Reflect on the importance of religion in the lives of others living in Britain, and how religious beliefs influence the lifestyle of people around us
  • Explore how morality and virtue can contribute to British society
  • Challenge the prejudice and discrimination that currently exists in modern Britain
  • Reflection on personal beliefs and how these may impact those around us
  • Develop respect for others
  • Consider personal responsibilities towards ourselves and others
  • Encourages empathy, generosity and compassion

Information about extra-curricular sessions and extended learning opportunities available to my child.

In recent years, Religious Studies pupils at Coseley have taken part in:

  • Debate at the Council Chambers
  • Documentary making using Video Software
  • GSUS Live (Interactive Truck tackling the big questions from a Christian perspective)
  • Visits to places of worship
  • Charity work

Does my child need any specialist equipment for this subject?

No specific equipment is required for Religious Studies lessons.

Comments are closed.